General Election Results


The long-awaited election of 2019 is over and results are in. All of the current incumbents kept their seats for another four years. Approximately 55% of Clarke County voters turned out to support their candidates.

The heated race for District Attorney District 10 resulted in the incumbent keeping the seat. Kassie Coleman won with a little over 600 votes district wide over Attorney Michael Grace, 19,383 to 18,783. County wide the totals were 3459 Coleman to 2829 Grace. Coleman was appointed to the position after Bilbo Mitchell resigned.

In the race for House of Representative Dist. 84, current Supervisor Troy Smith won over Clarke County native, Roy May district wide with 66.1% of the vote (5712 to 2927). County wide votes were Smith 3703 and May 1260. Smith won over incumbent William Shirley in the Primary and will take office in January.

Sally Wedgeworth will take over the Circuit Clerk’s office in January. Wedgeworth, a long-time employee of Circuit Clerk Incumbent Beth Jordan, won the race with 2816 votes over Paula Cooks (265), Yvette Bartee (1707) and Brad Gipson (1609).

Another new face to the courthouse will be Joel Speed, winner of the Supervisor District 2 race. Speed will replace Troy Smith. Speed won the race with 511 votes over Greg Risher (211), Tony Chancelor (393), Glenn Cook (12), Chuck Hamrick (210), Tim Ivy (38) and James Pearson (55).

Other races include:

Chancery Clerk

Incumbent Angie Chisholm 4608

Maranda Miller Turner 1523

Tax Assessor

Incumbent Hope Herrington 4362

Andrea Davis 1916


Incumbent Todd Kemp 4517

Karey Williams 772

Kenneth Pearson 989

Supervisor District 2

Incumbent Lorenzo Carter 896

James “Buddy” Butler 319

Supervisor District 4

Incumbent Paul Mosley 1046

Edward McKenzie 204

Supervisor District 5

Incumbent Mickey Long 901

Steve Neely 432

Constable Place 1

Incumbent Beverly Trotter 1762

Jonathan Ivey 1448

See next week’s Tribune for a breakdown of Clarke County votes by precincts.

*All results listed are unofficial.